top of page



ASEPA is the official constituent chapter of the American Academy of Physician Associates (AAPA) representing PAs in the specialty of Endocrinology.

The organization was founded by three Endocrine PAs in 1999. In 2000, ASEPA was awarded formal recognition as a specialty chapter of the AAPA and gained non-profit organization status.



ASEPA members meet twice a year at the following conferences: AAPA and AACE. We also meet informally at the MEDS East and MEDS West conferences.


Throughout the year, board members communicate frequently via email and conference calls. 

We are dedicated to the education, advancement, and placement of PAs in the field of Endocrinology. This will further provide enhanced accessibility to quality care with the current and future projected nationwide shortages of board certified Endocrinologists.

Additionally, ASEPA will continue to establish alliances with endocrine-related organizations to strengthen the PA / Endocrinologist team.

Our Mission Statement - The American Society of Endocrine Physician Assistants (ASEPA) is a professional medical organization dedicated to Endocrine education and the advancement of PAs in Endocrinology to provide increased access to quality patient care.


ASEPA Board Members


The following members presently comprise the Board for the American Society of Endocrine Physician Assistants. * Board members are endocrine-practicing PAs and serve 2-year terms.


  • President: Amy Butts, PA-C, DFAAPA, BC-ADM, CDCES, WVU Medicine Wheeling Hospital

  • Vice President:  Sonia Bahroo, PA-C, Capital Diabetes & Endocrine Associates, Camp Springs MD

  • Secretary:  Justine Herndon, PA-C

  • Treasurer: Jesse Lyon, PA-C, Pheonix Childrens Hopsital, Pheonix, AZ

  • Immediate Past President:  Ashlyn Smith, PA-C, Endocrinology Associates, Scottsdale AZ

  • Student Representatives:  Emma Nicolli, PA-S3, University of Colorado CHA/PA program

  • Student Representatives: Charlie Woods, PA-S2

  • Student Representatives: Nicole Rivera, PA-S1, LMU School of Medical Sciences, TN

Committee Members

  • House of Delegates: Stephen Willis

  • Membership: Sarah Logan, Justine Herndon

  • Newsletter: Megan O'Neill, Courtney Wilke, Jennifer Becker, Alyssa Klopfer

  • Web/Social Media: Karina Miranda (Chair), Boyd Hammond

  • Publication: Courtney Wilke

  • Education: Sydney Franco, Katharine Patrick

  • Finance: Jesse Lyon (Chair), Joy Dugan, Ashley Williams, Sean Flynn

  • Bylaws/Legislation: Ashlyn Smith, Amy Butts, Sonia Bahroo, Sean Flynn, CJ Chun

Past Presidents 

  • 2021-2023Ashlyn Smith, Endocrinology Associates, Scottsdale AZ 

  • 2017-2019: CJ Chun, Medical Science Liaison, Corcept Therapeutics

  • 2013-2017: Sondra O’Callaghan, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, Orlando VA Medical Center, Endocrinology Service; Clinical Instructor, UCF/Orlando VA/HCA Consortium, Endocrinology and Metabolism Fellowship Program

  • 2011- 2013: Chris Sadler, Senior Medical Science Liaison – Janssen Scientific Affairs

  • 2009-2011: Holly Jodon, Metabolic Disease Associates, Erie PA

  • 2003-2009: B. Scott Urquhart, Diabetes and Thyroid Associates, Fredericksburg VA

  • 2000-2003: Anthony LaCourse

bottom of page